Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Beer Can Chicken: Something New 1-16-11 January 17, 2011

Filed under: Cooking — Angie S @ 6:14 pm

Hi All,

I am not taking credit for this…I am just merely passing on what I know.  Our Roommate Jeff did the cooking.  Check out my photo gallery page for a photo of our Beer Can Chicken.

Here’s what I know he used:

Chicken:  5 lb Whole Chicken

Rub:  Williams Sonoma:  Chili-Lime Rub

Beer:  Can of Mexican Beer (I don’t remember which one…lol).  You can use whatever you want.

Basically he followed a recipe from the internet by preparing the whole chicken – taking out and cutting away the unnecessary parts, stuffing the chicken with half a can of beer (room temperature), and then he rubbed the chicken with the Chili-Lime Rub.  Lastly he cooked it at 350 for about 15 mins per lb. or until the juices run clear (I’m not sure what the temperature of the chicken should be…we really need to get a meat thermometer).

What I learned from this exercise:  I really should pay attention when my roommate cooks.  This is just a quick rundown of what I am pretty sure he did.  I’m sure I could (Will) learn a lot from him since he’s a great cook 😉

-Angie Crocker

 

Leave a Reply

