Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Nana’s Banana Bread :) February 9, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 5:19 pm

Banana Bread is one of my favorite breakfast sweet foods.  I don’t usually like sweets for breakfast, but I can enjoy a piece of banana bread every now and again.

Since the recipe is the one my nana used to make, I thought I would share her picture in this post.  Below is my Nana, me, and Pa on my first Birthday.  My Aunt Karen informed me that January 15, 2011 was the 20th anniversary of her death.  She was one of the best woman that I have ever known, and it really stinks that she passed away so young.  The song by Billy Joel “Only the Good Die Young” reminds me of her. So enjoy the recipe in memory of my Nana 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NANA’S BANANA BREAD

Nana’s Banana Bread – Printable Version

INGREDIENTS:

1 3/4 c. flour

1 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1/3 c. shortening (I used canola oil)

2/3 c. sugar

2 slightly beaten eggs

1 c. mashed banana (2 to 3 bananas)

TIPS:

I substitute canola oil for shortening (don’t try olive oil-it will make the bread taste awful)

You want the bananas to be very ripe and brown – just not rotten

PREPARATION:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Dry Mixture (Medium Sized – Bowl #1):  Sift flour, measure and add baking powder, baking soda, salt, and then sift again.

3. Wet Mixture (Large Sized – Bowl #2): Cream shortening or add canola oil/as is, add sugar and gradually continue beating with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Then add eggs and mix with a spoon until mixture is smooth.

4.  Mash bananas with a fork.

5.  Add dry ingredients alternately with the mashed banana to the wet mixture.  Stirring fast enough to combine thoroughly.  Do not beat.

6.  Grease a loaf pan, and cook for between 40 minutes to 1 hour depending on your oven.  Bread will be nicely brown on top when it’s ready.  Just like the piece in the photo below:

ENJOY!!

 

Leave a Reply

