Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Homemade Pizza February 10, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 5:02 pm

Homemade Pizza Recipe | Simply Recipes – Printable Version

I’ve always wanted to make homemade pizza, but I never have.  When I was planning food for this week, I decided it was going to be one of our meals.

So I got to work.  First I found a recipe that sounded good, then I made double the dough (in two separate batches) of what the recipe called for so that if I messed up I had extra dough to practice with.

Making the dough was as easy as 1,2,3…

First I mixed all of the ingredients together.

Next I let the dough rise in the oven for 1.5 hours.  I followed the recipe instructions and put the oven on 150 degrees (Actually 170 degrees/my oven doesn’t go any lower).  Then I shut the oven off and added the dough.

Lastly I shaped the dough with a rolling pin to get it ready for toppings.

So I messed the first pizza up:

The Crust is where I went wrong.

There was way too much Crust as you can see.

TIPS:  Instead of using your hands to shape the pizza, use a rolling pin.  This creates a more consistent thickness.  My first pizza was thin in some areas and thick in others.  I would skip adding a crust edge all together.  The pizza was good flat without an extra edge of crust.

Tadaahhhh!  I made a yummy pepperoni pizza 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

