Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Meatballs & Meatball Subs February 22, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cooking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 9:25 pm
Last night, I was in the mood to make meatballs. We had two sub rolls left in the house so I let the boys have them.  I enjoyed my meatballs in a dish with some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.  We made a Caesar salad and had it on the side.  Dinner was delicious and we are planning on using the extra meatballs and sauce for some spaghetti this week 🙂
Meatball Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds ground beef
1 1/4 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs (or crackers) (I used Ritz crackers)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
Oregano – I added a tsp even though it wasn’t originally part of this recipe
4 cloves garlic, minced (I used 1 tsp already minced garlic from the jar)
1 small yellow onion, chopped (I chopped up really small using my food processor)
1 egg, beaten
1 (26 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce (I used 2 jars of Ragu)
1 (16 ounce) can crushed tomatoes (Skipped this)
1 (14.25 ounce) can tomato puree (Skipped this too)
Directions
1)   Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2)   In a bowl, mix the ground beef, bread crumbs, parsley, oregano, garlic, onion, and egg. Shape the mixture into about 20 meatballs.
3)   Evenly space the meatballs on a cookie sheet, and then cook the meatballs for about 5-7 minutes on each side sealing them, and slightly browning the outside.
4)   In the crock pot, mix the spaghetti sauce, crushed tomatoes (if using), and tomato puree (if using).  Place the meatballs into the sauce mixture. Cook on Low for 6 to 8 hours.  I cooked on Low for an hour and then on High for another hour.

Here are some photos:
Meatball Mixture
Just before going into the oven.
Draining the Grease.
Standing out from the Crowd.
Cooking in the Crock Pot.
 

Leave a Reply

