Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Shake, Shake, Shake! October 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Angie S @ 5:55 pm

Happy Sunday!!

I don’t know about you, but I am always trying to find ways to keep myself full & eat healthy.  That’s why I like oatmeal shakes for breakfast and a fruit and veggie shake as an afternoon snack.  I Try to eat at least two shakes a day and do so most of the time 🙂

A year ago, we bought the Health Master Blender, and it was a complete waste of money  because it is a huge piece of junk.  Basically, the bottom of the blender leaks rust.  As you can imagine, I was concerned that these chemicals were contaminating my healthy food, and clean-up was no fun at all.  That kinda defeats the purpose of healthy eating!  So I bought a “Ninja” from Kohl’s and so far it’s great!

I have one of the those cups with the built in straw and it works perfect for my shakes!  Here are the shakes I’ve been making…

Breakfast Shake:

1/2 cup oatmeal (add a little water & heat for 30 secs in the microwave)

1/2 cup milk

1 cup ice

1/2 banana (substitute for strawberries or raspberries)

Optional:  dash of cinnamon, TSP honey or peanut butter, scoop of protein powder

Snack Shake:

1/2 cup water (substitute for OJ)

1 cup ice

1/2 cup fresh spinach

1 orange

4-5 strawberries (substitute for  raspberries or 1/2 banana)

a scoop of protein powder

Half of the fun of making shakes is that there are so many different combinations that you can make.  You can also change up the type of juice you use.  Be sure to substitute for something that is 100% juice.

Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

