Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Dark Chocolate Cherry Fudge December 18, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 4:03 pm

Hello~

Mike needed something to bring to his work Holiday party, so he decided that he wanted me to make fudge.  So today, I made Dark Chocolate Cherry Fudge.  I tried a new recipe I found on rachelray.com, for Chocolate Fudge, and it is a very good one.  We decided on using dark chocolate and adding cherries and it made a delicious combination.

Here’s a photo:

I originally covered one of my loaf pans in foil, spayed the foil with nonstick cooking spray, added the fudge, let the fudge set for three hours, and then removed it from the pan.  The nonstick cooking spray made it very easy to remove.  I then cut the fudge into bite size pieces and transferred it to a disposable foil pan so it’s easier to transport – and not have to worry about getting the pan/container back.  I like using foil pans for Thanksgiving sides too, it makes it nice and easy for storage and cleanup.

Here’s the Printable Recipe.

INGREDIENTS

1 pound semi-sweet chocolate (I used dark chocolate)

1 ounce unsweetened chocolate

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

Optional mix-ins: chopped nuts,

dried fruits, mini-marshmallows (I used cherries)

Serves 12

PREPARATION

Line a pan with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray.  Heat the chocolate on a double boiler on the stovetop. Heat the condensed milk, vanilla and salt on the stovetop in a heavy bottomed pan over medium heat and stir until smooth. Add the melted chocolate and combine – the mixture will be thick and hard to stir. Add the chopped nuts and/or other mix-ins and pour into the lined pan.  Allow the fudge to cool in the refrigerator, uncovered, for 3 hours or overnight.

As for the rest of the week, Chocolate Covered Pretzel Rods and Aunt Missy’s Cut-Outs are on my list of desserts to be made before Christmas.  I also want to make another batch of fudge – milk chocolate – next time.

More posts and photos to follow.

~Angie

 

Leave a Reply

