Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Beef Stew & Cornbread January 23, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 8:13 pm

My colleague and my parents recently made beef stew, and it sounded so good to me.  It’s been raining here for the last few days, and it has been cold and raw.  The perfect kind of day for some beef stew!  I picked up the ingredients yesterday when I went shopping, and today I got to work.

Slicing and dicing and simmering and tasting..

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

2 lbs. stew meat

4 carrots

4 celery stalks

5 red potatoes (skin on)

1 onion

1 – small can Hunts tomato paste

1 – 14 oz can Hunts stewed tomato

3 – tbsp. flour

1 tsp. cornstarch – mix with 1 ladle full of hot soup/repeat until desired thickness

salt & pepper to taste

enough water to keep meat & veggies covered at all times

I skipped the bacon and the toppings.  I kinda wished I had some thyme and some bay leaves; however, the soup had a nice flavor when it was all said and done.

1) First I cut up the stew beef into small cubes, fried it in some oil until browned, and then I tossed it in the flour to coat it lightly.

2) Next I cut up the carrots, potatoes (leaving skin on), onion, and celery.  Keep in mind:  cut the carrots and potatoes thin and small.  They take forever to cook!

3) I put the meat and veggies in a big pot and covered with 1 can stewed tomatoes, 2 tbsp. tomato paste, and enough water to cover everything.

4) I simmered for about four hours, making sure there was enough liquid covering the stew.  Just about 30 minutes before I finished cooking, I took a ladle full of soup and added a heaping tbsp. of cornstarch.  I stirred until the cornstarch dissolved into the liquid and then I stirred it into my pot.  I repeated this about 2-3 more times to thicken the soup up and make a nice consistency for a stew.  I let the stew finish simmering for the remaining 30 minutes.

5) I baked up a box of Jiffy cornbread on the side.  I used a 6″ baking pan and cut it into quarters.

Recipe Courtesy of rachelray.com.  By Rachel Ray 🙂

Yum!!

 

Leave a Reply

