Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Nana’s Pork Pies February 13, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Cooking — Angie S @ 1:40 pm

Printable Recipe

This year my plan was to cook more, and I’m really trying.  I’ve been slowly cooking more.  I have to start somewhere.  It’s hard when we have a roommate that is an amazing chef and wants to cook for us.  If someone was cooking for you, would you stop them?  Well instead of thinking like that I am starting to think if I don’t get the chance to learn, I’m not going to get better at it.  So we can share the responsibility 🙂

I made the most amazing recipe this weekend my Nana’s Pork Pie recipe.  This is a French recipe and it has been in our family for a very long time.  Ever since I was little, we have had pork pie around the holidays.

Here’s a photo of my Nana, me, and My Pa from my first birthday:

My Aunt Karen always makes these delicious pies, and my dad does too.  I used to help my Aunt Karen roll out the crust for these pies around the holidays 🙂

Me & Aunt Karen

Now I can say, that I have made them for myself.  Here’s a photo of my pie:

This recipe makes enough meat for 2 pies.  I didn’t realize that when I was making the meat since it didn’t say it on the recipe, but look how full my pie was:

Luckily I had enough dough to make another pie crust, so I took some of this meat out and made another pie.

It was so good!  Exactly how it should taste, and the smell of it cooking yesterday reminded me of the holidays at my grandparent’s house.  If I make it again, for just me & Mike, I will cut the recipe in half.  I am so happy that I made this and I have a couple more family recipes to try soon 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

Nana’s Pork Pies

2 lbs. ground pork                                    2 medium onions chopped

1 tsp. salt (or to taste)                              1/2 tsp. pepper (or to taste)

1 tsp. poultry seasoning                          ¼ tsp. cinnamon

¼ tsp. ground clove                                 2 Pie Crusts (top and bottom)

Sauté ground pork and onion with salt and pepper (do not brown).  Add water to just about cover (but do not cover) pork and onion.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat to lowest setting and simmer for about an hour.  Add poultry seasoning, cinnamon and ground clover and simmer until all water just about evaporates.  If there is any liquid left – Drain.

Pour into lined pie plate (uncooked pie crust), cover with top crust with several slits and brown in 350° oven or until curst is at desired brownness (about 30 minutes).

Makes 2 – 8″ Pies

 

Leave a Reply

