Cooking, Baking, & Photo-taking

Follow me on my Cooking Journey…

Weekly Recipe Round-up September 8, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Cooking,Photo-Taking — Angie S @ 9:37 am

Happy Saturday!!

Welcome to my Kitchen,, It is not decorated yet, but I want to show it off anyway 🙂  It’s nice, bright and yellow!!

NEW RECIPES:

Click on the recipe titles below for the Printable Version.

Chili Beef Stir-Fry with Scallions and Snow Peas – Great recipe!! Stir-frys are a good way to get a lot of veggies into your life.  Here are some adaptions I made to this recipe:  I used taco seasoning for the chili-garlic sauce, I added an extra tsp honey, 1 tsp sugar, skipped the mirin or sherry, skipped garlic, added a tab bit less ginger, and  instead of just the snow peas, I added a bag of pre-packed stir-fry veggies that included broccoli, snow peas, cabbage, and carrots.  For next time, I would cut the meat smaller into bite size pieces, and add more garlic – I had run out and not realized 😦

You and Me Chicken Pot Pies – Instead of making individual pot pies, I just made one big one.  I was looking for the phyllo dough, but couldn’t find it so I grabbed some pre-made frozen pie crust instead.  This was way too much filling for 1 pie so I still have filling in the fridge and may make a couple more pies.  Next time, I would use a pie pan to measure the amount of veggies and potatoes in advance and adjust the gravy accordingly to fill one pie.  It could have used a little more seasoning, but all in all this was a great recipe.  Maybe better saved for a weekend night when you are not starving!

Fettuccine with Creamy Red Pepper-Feta Sauce – This recipe was just Ok… I could see it more as a cold pasta salad and less as a nice, hot dinner.  I added a little too much garlic – if that is possible.  I love the roasted red peppers in the jar. Delicious and I still have some leftover for another recipe.

I hope you enjoyed my recipes and photos, and I am looking forward to another week in the Kitchen.

~Angie

 

Leave a Reply

